Inspire Science Camp

The Five-Day DST, INSPIRE programme was organized by OmDayal Group of Institutions (ODGI) under the aegis of Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India from 13-17 January 2020 at the ODGI college campus. The objective was to inspire and encourage students who are on the thresh hold of choosing their course of study. Furthermore the aim of the Camp was to build a strong scientific temper for future innovations and creations in our country. Students who were toppers in science subjects were given the opportunity to learn from and interact with eminent scientists and mentors through lectures, projects, competitions, educational tour and lab visits. Around 185 students and teachers of the following schools were invited to participate in the Camp.

  1. Mugkalyan High School
  2. Howrah Vivekananda Mission
  3. Bagnan High School
  4. Bagnan Girls High School
  5. Baniban Girls High School
  6. Tarasundari Ballika Vidyabhaban
  7. Belkulai CKAC Vidyapeeth
  8. Sree Ramkrishna Skikshalay
  9. Uluberia High School
  10. Jagatpur Adarsha Vidyalay.
  11. Bagnan Adarsha Balika Vidyalaya
  12. Nakole High School
  13. Shyampur High School
  14. Shibpur Hindu Girls High School.
  15. B.E. College Model School
  16. DPS, Ruby Park, Kolkata

The Program began with the Welcome Address given by the Convenor, Dr. Prosenjit Sen, Vice Principal, ODGI. The Chief Guest of the INSPIRE Camp, Prof, Sukumar Das Adhikari of Ramkrishna Mission Educational and Research Institute inaugurated the programme by Lighting of the Lamp. He stressed the need of training the young minds and inculcating a love for science in their young minds. He urged the teachers to nurture such talents so that students make useful contributions towards national growth. The Science Camp witnessed a conglomeration of eminent scientists, stalwart speakers and doctors who were from different fields of Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Earth Science and medicine. The plethora of experts were Dr. D.P.Duari, Director of M.P.Birla Planetorium, Dr. Partho Chakroborti, Principal Scientist of CSIR:,Prof. Sukumar Das Adhikari, Ramkrishna Mission Educational and Research Institute, Dr. Tapas Kumar Gangopadhyay, IIEST, Prof. Raja Pal of IACS, Dr. Alakes Maity of Vidyasagar Metropolitan College.; Dr. Debojoti Ghoshal, Jadavpur University, Sk. Rabiul Haque- Advisor, Agrohorti; Dr. Tarit Roychowdhury, Jadavpur University.